History of my name

My name is Darianne Sophia. My first name is actually pronounced in Spanish but it’s not pronounced the way it’s spelled. Because of school I got used to everyone calling me their own pronunciation of my name in english. And the majority of the time I don’t care to correct them. My middle name however has the ability to be pronounced in both languages. And that is what I am thankful for.

My siblings always joke about when my mom was signing the birth certificate. They would say she was “too high” on medication to spell it correctly. It should’ve been spelled D-a-r-i-a-n-n-a but instead of the “a” she added the “e”. As for my middle name, which is Sophia, shockingly, she spelt it correctly. 

I never cared enough to ask my mom who picked out my name until this assignment. She said she was the one because I was a girl and so she wanted to be the one to pick out the name. If I was a boy it would’ve been my father. So I proceeded to ask her why she had picked the name that she did. She said that she had heard it in a telenovela, (which is a drama TV show just in spanish), but she can’t remember what the title of the show was. She thought it was unique, and she fell in love with the name. As for when it came to giving me a middle name she wanted the name to roll off the tongue and sound pretty so she chose Sophia. 

I prefer to be called Sophia because it’s just basic and simple. It’s not difficult to pronounce in either language. 

Having a unique name isn’t all rainbows and sunshine. And I’m pretty sure if you have one you can relate with me. It can get irritating having to repeat yourself multiple times so the other person can pronounce it correctly. And I’m not only talking about repeating the name to people who don’t speak the Spanish language. I’m also referring to people who speak Spanish as well.  It happens in both languages. You’d be surprised at the amount of names people have called me just trying to pronounce my first name. Now I know it’s not the other person’s fault, they are just being polite enough to want to pronounce it correctly, but once it’s any everyday routine it gets exhausting. There’s times where I just tell someone to refer to me as my middle name Sophia. 

On google my first name Darianne means prosperous, maintains possessions well; Sea. According to the urban dictionary I’m described as kind, caring, loving, and amazing. I’d like to believe those qualities fit me. But that’s just my own opinion… As for my middle name Sophia, according to google, is wisdom. Personally I don’t believe I have much wisdom but I hope one day I will achieve it. In the urban dictionary my middle name describes Sophia as a person who is truly herself around people. And is someone you can always trust. Now I don’t wanna come off as cocky or anything but I do think this does define me. I like the thought of people coming up to me asking for advice and telling me their secrets. It makes me feel like an honest and overall good person. 

As I was researching in Google I came across an interesting fact I didn’t know. According to Google, the origin of my first name is Persian and my middle name is Greek. I never really put much thought about the history of my name. This is really fascinating for me to know because I don’t appreciate my name as much as I should. I mean it’s what people call us. Names are powerful and it’s up to you if you let it define yourself. 

One response to “History of my name”

  1. I am so sorry I am just now leaving a comment. I assumed your partner graded this….but I had to come back and plug in the number. My bad. Loved this. You have a natural, conversational style in your writing…well done.
    20/20

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started